Recent Innovations in Nutrition and Health in Developing Societies

Rainer Gross Award


The Rainer Gross Award: Recent Innovations in Nutrition and Health in Developing Societies was created by the Hildegard Grunow Foundation to honour the memory of the late Dr. Rainer Gross and memorialise his unique approach to innovation in concepts and research in critical — but novel — areas of inquiry, with a view to better the nutrition and health of the less fortunate. With the awarding of this Prize, we recognized the merits of others who continued to develop and pursue innovative ideas and projects in nutrition and health in developing societies. The prize was endowed with 2500 USD, and was awarded from 2010 until 2018 on the occasion of a large international nutrition-related meeting.

The prize winners (2010 – 2018)

Rainer Gross Award 2018

The 5th Rainer Gross Prize was awarded during the 18th Latin American Congress of Nutrition in Guadalajara, Mexico.

The winner is Dr. Sun Eun Lee, assistant scientist in the Department of International Health at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, USA.

Dr. Lee was honored for her paper in the Journal of Nutrition, entitled, „The Plasma Proteome Is Associated with Anthropometric Status of Undernourished Nepalese School-Aged Children“.

This scientific paper deals with plasma proteomics as a platform on which to assess micronutrient deficiencies and other aspects of malnutrition in low-income populations.


Publication in the Food and Nutrition Bulletin

Professor Dr. Klaus Schümann, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Hildegard Grunow Foundation, handed over the award to Rebecca Kanter (on behalf of Dr. Lee).

The winner Dr. Sun Eun Lee together with Dr. Keith West and Rebecca Kanter.


Award winners 2010 – 2016

2016 The fourth award was awarded to Dr. Saurabh Mehta of Cornell University, New York, during the Micronutrient Forum on “Positioning Women’s Nutrition at the center of Sustainable development”, held in Cancún, Mexico.

Rainer Gross Prize 2016

2014 The third award went to David Thurnham of the United Kingdom at the III WCPHN in Las Palmas, Gran Canaria, Spain. Tribute to Rainer Gross 2014.

Rainer Gross Prize 2014

2012 The awardees of the second Rainer Gross Prize were Kenneth H Brown from the USA and Manuel Ruz from Chile. The ceremony was held during the XVI Congress of the Latin American Society of Nutrition (SLAN) in Havana, Cuba.

Rainer Gross Prize 2012

2010 The first award was made to Aaron Lechtig of Peru and Angela Cespedes of Bolivia on the occasion of the II World Congress of Public Health Nutrition in Porto, Portugal.

Rainer Gross Prize 2010